Events

HOURS
Tuesday - Thursday 11AM - 5PM
Friday - Saturday 11AM - 4PM

Orders can be placed in-store, by email, or by phone.
info@thelittlebookshopva.com
804-464-1244
Orders are picked up in-store. If you need additional help, please call us when you arrive.

Need to have books shipped to you or someone else?
Please go to Bookshop.org and search and order books from our page.
Bookshop.org is the new online book retail site that gives money back to independent bookstores.

View more information on new releases, events, and ordering and shipping in our February email blast:  FEBRUARY EMAIL

 

HOURS
Tuesday - Thursday 11AM - 5PM
Friday - Saturday 11AM - 4PM

Orders can be placed in-store, by email, or by phone.
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
804-464-1244
Orders are picked up in-store. If you need additional help, please call us when you arrive.

Need to have books shipped to you or someone else?
Please go to Bookshop.org and search and order books from our page.
Bookshop.org is the new online book retail site that gives money back to independent bookstores.

View more information on new releases, events, and ordering and shipping in our February email blast:  FEBRUARY EMAIL

 

/events/399-ticketed-author-event-with-donna-everhart

Ticketed Author Event With Donna Everhart

Category
All Book Lovers
Date
Monday, February 26, 2024 06:00 PM - 07:30 PM

All Dates

  • Monday,¬†February¬†26,¬†2024 06:00 PM - 07:30 PM

THIS EVENT IS SOLD OUT

We are very excited to welcome author Donna Everhart Monday, Feb. 26, at 6:00 PM who will be discussing and signing copies of her new book:

When the Jessamine Grows

This is a $25 ticketed event which includes a copy of When the Jessamine Grows.

Donna has a wonderful presentation prepared -- we know you'll want to hear it and meet her in person. We'll have cupcakes and champagne to toast Donna's new book and to celebrate owner Mary Patterson's almost 60th birthday (59 and holding!). It's a book party and a birthday party! Don't miss the fun!!

Tickets can be purchased in-store or by phone.

Limited seating available, so register today!

804-464-1244

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

For readers of Cold Mountain by Charles Frazier and Enemy Women by Paulette Jiles, an evocative, morally complex novel set in rural 19th century North Carolina, as one woman fights to keep her family united, her farm running, and her convictions whole during the most devastating and divisive period in American history.

Talk of impending war is a steady drumbeat throughout North Carolina, though Joetta McBride pays it little heed. She and her husband, Ennis, have built a modest but happy life for themselves, raising two sons, fifteen-year-old Henry, and eleven-year-old Robert, on their small subsistence farm. They do not support the Confederacy's position on slavery, but Joetta considers her family to be neutral, believing this is simply not their fight. Her opinion is not favored by many in their community, including Joetta's own father-in-law, Rudean. A staunch Confederate supporter, he fills his grandsons' heads with stories about the glory of battle and the Southern cause until one night Henry runs off to join the war. At Joetta's frantic insistence, Ennis leaves to find their son and bring him home. But soon weeks pass with no word from father or son and Joetta is battered by the strain of running a farm with so little help. As the country becomes further entangled in the ramifications of war, Joetta finds herself increasingly at odds with those around her - until one act of kindness brings her family to the edge of even greater disaster. Though shunned and struggling to survive, Joetta remains committed to her principles, and to her belief that her family will survive. But the greatest tests are still to come - for a fractured nation, for Joetta, and for those she loves . . .(publisher mkting)